USDA unveils healthy snack proposals for nation’s schools

Tell you what to eat, it’s still tyranny. Statists like the Obama’s love tyranny.

When I was a kid, I did not eat in the school cafeteria. I took the money I made from my lawnmower business and walked down the street to buy what I wanted.

I would tell this USDA program where to stick it.

The United States Department of Agriculture introduced its proposed standards for snacks allowed in the nation’s public schools Friday.

The new standards come as part of the Michelle Obama-backed Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act of 2010, which mandated the USDA set requirements for all the food provided by schools. The “Smart Snacks in School” proposal is a portion of that effort.

Under the proposed snack guidelines, food sold in schools must be either a fruit, vegetable, dairy product; “protein food”; food with 50 percent or more whole grains by weight or primary ingredient; combination food with 1/4 cup of fruit or vegetables; or contain 10 percent calcium, potassium, vitamin D, or fiber.

Further, under the proposed rules the USDA will require the items be low fat (exemptions being food with nuts and reduced fat cheese), low sodium, and low in sugar. Snacks must also meet a calorie limit.

And who is the biggest fatty of all, the one stuffing government lobsters down her throat while demanding you eat the crap food. I bet this won’t end well.

 

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

